Hotlines: +233 - (302) 739510 (Main) / +233 - (243) 407809 / +233 - (506) 210458

Anaesthesia Department


The Anaesthesia Sub-BMC was established to provide anaesthesia services in all Theatres, Recovery Wards and Intensive Care Units in the Hospital. It also provides training for students and various cadre of health professionals and conducts research.

The Sub-BMC has a bed capacity of 40 for both the Recovery Wards and the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) spread across the hospital.

The Anaesthesia Sub-BMC, in line with the Korle Bu Teaching Hospital’s strategic development policy, is aimed at improving patient care, efficient material and financial resource management and also improving staff welfare in order to increase productivity.


Units within the Anaesthesia Sub-Bmc
2. Recovery wards

Services the Anaesthesia Sub-Bmc Provides
The Anaesthesia Sub-BMC performs the following services:

- Provides intensive care services for critically-ill patients.
- It provides anaesthetic services for all surgical specialties in the Korle Bu Teaching Hospital.
- It provides anaesthetic services for selected patients undergoing CT scan and other radiological investigation.
- It provides pre-anaesthetic clinical services for patients being prepared for surgery and other interventions that require general anaesthesia.
- Provides acute and chronic pain management for selected patients.
- Provides CPR training for hospital staff and other institutions on request.

Clinics Run by Anaesthesia Sub-Bmc
1. Pre-Operative Assessment Clinic
2. Pain Management Clinic (Yet to be opened)


Special Facility
Pre-Operative Assessment Clinic for Selective cases

Training Services
1. CPR Training (Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation)
2. Residency Training in Anaesthesia for Post Graduate Fellowship
3. Certificate Training in Anaesthesia for Anaesthetic Clerks

List of Consultants And Specialists    

1. Prof. Ernest A. Aniteye - Head Of Department

2. Prof. Yaw Adu-Gyamfi - Senior Consultant

3. Prof. Henry K. Baddoo - Senior Consultant

4. Dr. Eugenia Lamptey - Senior Consultant

5. Dr. Brenda Phillips - Senior Consultant

6. Dr. Phyllis Lassey - Senior Consultant

7. Dr. Robert Djagbletey - Consultant

8. Dr. Ernest Ofosu-Appiah - Consultant

9. Dr. Christian Owoo - Consultant

10. Dr.Ebenezer Owusu Darkwa - Consultant 

11. Dr. Ama Pokua Sarpong - Consulatnt

12.Dr. Divine A. Kwami - Consultant 

13. Dr. Andrews K. Adade - Senior Specialist

14. Dr. Amanda Quarshie - Senior Specialist

15. Dr. Audery Oteng-Yeboah - Senior Specialist

16. Dr. Fred Osei - Senior Specialist

17. Dr. Carol Collison - Specialist

18. Dr. David A. Kotey - Specialist

19. Dr. Jonas Afari - Specialist

20. Dr. James Quarshie-Sam - Specialist

21. Dr. Degraft-Johnson - Specialist

22. Dr. C. Quarcoopome - Specialist

23. Dr. Henry Awuvri - Specialist

24. Dr. Titus Eninful - Specialist

25. Dr. Samuel Anarfi - Specialist 

26. Dr. Charles Hayfron - Benjamin